Changes


Well, here we are, the last day of the year. 2011 is just about completely behind us, and I suppose we’re all looking forward to 2012 (not that we have much say in the matter, time marching on regardless of what we mere mortals might have to say about that).

I’ve been thinking about this blog and how I’ve been using it over the last year or two. I’ve decided I’ll a)have more frequent posts and b)branch out a little (I’m sure readers are bored of me updating it with news only of story successes and failures). I’ll stick close to things I know, particularly books I’ve read, but might strike out in other directions.

There’s going to be a bit on in 2012 on the writing front. There’ll be an announcement in the new year about a project I’m taking on, and there are several writing projects that will be competing with each other for my attention. I’ve been busy with re-writes and editing of some stuff that’s lingered a buit longer than I’d hoped, so I’m keen to get back into some writing.

In terms of writing in 2011, published credits haven’t been as numerous as 2010. By my estimation, the following saw the light of day:

Widdershins: published twice this year, first up in Midnight Echo and then very recently as a podcast from Pseudopod.rog

Shivers: in the Big Book of New Short Horror from Pill Hill Press.

The Well: in the Winter Journal of the British Fantasy Society

This Is How the World Ends: Doctor Who short story from The Doctor Who Project.

A couple of previously announced stories are yet to see the light of day: Blood Fire from Rogue Blades Entertainment and The Lighthouse from Screaming Dreams. Certain to be available in 2012.

So, not a bad year, but not as good as I’d hoped. I think my writing has improved, though I don’t think I’m going to be anything more than a straightforward horror writer – which isn’t bad, but isn’t enough to differentiate me from all the really good writers out there.

Hmm, that sounds a bit sad. Oh well, we push on.

Happy New Year to all of you out there and expect to hear a bit more from me in 2012. You lucky bastards!

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

