Day 14 (ish) – that light at the end of the tunnel is not the 3.15 from Broadmeadows


In the last straight with regards to the first (though really it feels like half of the first draft) draft of ‘Pipes’. Monday night I finished the last section, which came in at just over 1000 words and last night I pounded out 818 words which relate to Hannah visiting the village for the first time. Cue obligatory references to deserted, spooky, windswept, populated by old people only, and a visit to a creepy corner store. Also, throw in oblique references to the history of the church and an unwelcoming villager and voila! – the story is finished.

The last couple of days have been a better experience – with the end in sight, the weight on my shoulders has begun to lift. The days in the middle were pretty ordinary, as evidenced by my earlier posts. Once I finish the last section, hopefully tonight, I’ll print the story up, file it in a drawer, and not think about it for a few weeks. I’ve had some ideas for future projects and they’re jostling for attention at the moment.

Once I finish the first draft, I’ll look back and comment on the process here – examining the stinky entrails, as it were…

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

