The Copse – the backlash!


Well, my little story that could has been superseded by a couple of new stories so it is slowly sinking down the Pseudopod page of new releases.  Fortunately, I’ve managed to kick the discussion of it along by anwering questions/comments/criticisms of it on the Pseudopod forum.  Link here.

Overall, based on the comments, the story gets a pass mark, just.  A lot of listeners liked the atmosphere, but didn’t think much of the story itself.  I tend to agree – storywise, there’s nothing new or innovative going on, indeed, I agree with a couple of listeners who likened it to a 70s Hammer film (which is a bit of a backhanded compliment, because by the 1970s, Hammer’s output was a shadow of its earlier glories (Twins of Evil aside, of course!).  However, I think the story is nothing less than competent, and I think the atmosphere comes through the narration very, very well.

So, while it hasn’t set the world on fire, I’m quietly pleased with the overall result.

Now, if only my friends would actually tell me what they thought (yeah, you two with the RSS feed thingy to this blog) then I could sleep a contented man…

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Copse – the backlash!

  1. J. Westlake says:

    I personally liked it, Robert. As you said, the atmosphere is the strongest aspect of it – but that’s not to say the plot is bad, either. While it’s always good to try and be totally brand new and innovative with regards to plot, sometimes it’s nice just to write something *fun* and enjoyable to read.

    For me, it’s about entertaining people. If you can push boundaries and write something totally new in the process, then that’s great too, obviously. But what’s the point of doing that, if no one is entertained by it?

    Anyway, I’m starting to ramble. But I thought the story wasn’t bad at all.

    J.

Leave a Reply

