After the Darkness


The number of internet horror fiction sites is huge.  They cater for all manner of fiction, long and short.  Microhorror.com publishes fiction no longer than 666 words, offering a tasty slice of short short horror for its readers.  After the Darkness is designed to show how a particular situation can be viewed – instead of standing on the outside looking in, we are offered the chance of being on the inside, looking out. 

That said, I’m not sure it works.  I’m ambivalent about the first person perspective – while it gives the story a real sense of immediacy, would the character (not wanting to spoil the story, I won’t call him what he clearly is) be capable of thinking the way he does? 

Also, the story was written very quickly, in about two hours.  Habitually, I like to pore over a story, fine tuning until I get it as right as I think I can.  With After the Darkness, however, there was minimal rework.  I don’t think it is entirely up to scratch.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to After the Darkness

  1. Cathryn says:

    Congrats on the acceptance. I’ll look forward to listening.

Leave a Reply

